02
Sep
08

Canon HF100…finally!

I recently purchased a new Canon HF100 and can now cross off at least one item from my “toys to buy” list. I did some tests over the weekend to try and learn more about the different settings. I used my willing girlfriend as my test subject. 🙂 From first tests I’ve learned that: a) picture quality is pretty darn amazing b) manual settings are a little clumsy and c) AVCHD files are hard to work with and eat up A LOT of space after converting. Regardless, I LOVE the camcorder and will have a lot of fun playing around with it.

Below are some screen grabs from the shots I took over the weekend. You can view the full video here:

http://vimeo.com/1640367

4 Responses to “Canon HF100…finally!”


  1. 1 Tyler
    September 3, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Hey Wii, can you comment on the whole process from shooting with the HF100 to uploading to Vimeo? I’d like to know what software you used, time required, space required, etc. My HF100 is scheduled for delivery on Tuesday (9/9). I can’t wait to get started.

    Nice video!

  2. September 3, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Thanks Tyler!
    I’m on a MAC and I bring in the footage using iMovie 08. Once I plug in the camcorder to my computer via the provided USB cable, iMovie automatically picks it up. However, because AVCHD is relatively new, iMovie re-encodes the files using Apple Intermediate Codec. The good news is that it becomes an editable file for most editing software. The bad news is the file size literally balloons up by 10x so its good to have adequate hard drive space! I think it’s something like 100mb for every 1 minute of footage if you record at the highest bit-rate. In any case, I’m using After Effects to do basic editing/effects. If you render the final movie back out at 1280×720, Vimeo automatically detects it as HD. I render using the H.264 codec because it really compresses the final file size.

    I’ve read that most PC users have been using Final Cut, Pinnacle and Vegas and been very successful with handling the AVCHD files.

    You can find a ton of information at:
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014305
    http://camcorderinfo.com/bbs/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=-1&f=176

    Good luck!

  3. 3 Tyler
    September 3, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Very helpful info. Gives me a good starting point. Thanks much!


Leave a Reply

